Posted by Nadezda on November 5, 2009, at 11:05:01
In reply to Someone explain how facebook posting works, posted by Tabitha on November 5, 2009, at 3:01:04
If you post to your own wall, your profile photo will appear next to the post.
If a friend posts to your wall, their picture will appear next to the comment.
However, be comforted in that:
1. you can be on the do not post list, and the option to post button will be removed from your posts on babble.
2. there is, as seldom points out, the confirm button, which means you need to reconfirm the posting
3. once the post is on face book, you can REMOVE it; on any post on your wall, there is an option for you to remove it at any time-- and this includes your own posts.
3. there are settings which limit who can read and see posts on your wall, so that you can limit the visibility of posts on the wall to whomever you want-- including just yourself. The button is on your facebook page, under options, directly to the right of the post.
So, basically, you can change your mind and remove any post that is on your facebook page that you're uncomfortable with.
So while I understand that people are concerned about privacy, there are many layers of protection from revelation of your identity that would make you anxious.